top of page

Review: Supernova: Perth 2015


I sense I'm drinking tea...


If you have never been to a convention before, there is one word to sum it all up: LINES.


So. Many. Lines. Be prepared to line up. For exhibition halls, to meet your favourite celebrity, and, of course, the dreaded line up for the bathroom. Here are a few tips to avoid lining up for half of the day. Prebook everything! Buy your tickets online and you'll be able to walk right in. If you can, prebook your tickets for photos and autographs with any of the guests, you will save a lot much time. If you really hate lines with a passion, and you have some spare money, check out the VIP packages. A VIP ticket lets you cut to the front of the line and be the envy of every single person who has been standing in line for what seems like days.

A biiliard cue stick died to make this image.

I got into the convention at 10am, having prebooked my ticket I walked right up to security, flashed my ticket and they gave me an awesome red wrist band to wear! It didn’t quite go with my Daredevil cosplay, but what're you going to do.

At 11am photos with Nathan Fillion (EEEE!) start. So, of course, at 10 am I went right to the photobooth area. The line had already started; at least 100 people were already queuing up. After lining up for what felt like a lifetime, I finally got my awesome picture with him. Totally worth the $116!

After I picked up my picture, the panel for Bonnie Wright and Jason Isaacs was about to start. I managed to get into the theatre without too much hassle, there was no need to line up, just walk right in and find a seat. They had lots of stories from there time working on Harry Potter. And, of course, they only had nice things to say about the time they have spent in Australia, but if you ask me I’m pretty sure no matter where they end up, they say the country they are in is amazing. The panel only went for 45 min so unfortunately they couldn’t answer everyone’s questions.


After that panel was over I had just over 1 hour before the Nathan Fillion panel and the line had already started. Before it got really out of control I quickly found the end and joined the mob. I would estimate there were about 150 people in front of me. I’m not sure how long they started lining up before I got there, but the line was growing fast. After playing a little Pokemon, just over an hour later, the line started to move into the theatre. I have no idea how far the line went back, but unfortunately not everyone made it in.


Hush, woman! I need to catch them all!


After the panel it was time to find some food. Lucky the convention centre is right next to the bus port which has lots of little cafes and take away places to choose from. While sitting down next to Batman, Starlord and about 6 different Deadpools, I had a look at the con's timetable. There weren’t any other panels or celebrities I wanted to go see. So now was the perfect time to go walk around the convention hall and look at all the goodies.


It started to reach the end of the day the crowed started to thin out a little, so it made walking around the stalls much easier. Down one end of the hall there was about 5-6 rows of just artists selling there very awesome looking prints. This is a great place to pick up some really cool artwork. A lot of the artists even do commissions so you could get your very own one of a kind piece of art for a good price. At the other side of the hall was a whole bunch of stands filled with different types of collectables, from Pop! Vinyls to massive statues. I had to stop myself from buying everything I saw. I wanted it all.

After looking at all the stalls it was time to head home. Once I got outside a few people stopped me for photos. One person came up to me and asked if I would like to help him out with a video he was making about the convention. I was more than happy to help.


Once photos were done and the sun began to set… Well, that was it. My girlfriend and I caught a lift home, staggered into our house, exhausted and excited about the day we’d had. I kicked off my boots, rubbed my aching feet and switched Firefly on. What better way to start an end a day then with Nathan Fillion?

Nathon Fillion has been missing for the last week. Pictured here with suspects Ramsay, Webster.

images provided by Mark Ramsay, Ashayla Webster, and Melanie Doust

 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page